Sounds across the Centuries

davecamwell2

I’ve just posted my latest CD review in the 2014 Reviews section of this site. This comes after a break of several months as CD reviewing has unfortunately had to be relegated to the back burner while I was developing my new teaching career. With the challenges of teaching Whole Class Ensemble, a long commute down the M1 and learning new instruments (not simultaneously), there has sadly not been time for writing anything other than To Do lists and lesson plans! Anyway, the good news is that the teaching is off to a cracking if tiring start – two and a half terms in and so far so good – so I’m now hoping to catch up gradually with the backlog of CDs for review.

I’ve started with American saxophonist Dave Camwell’s Timescape, which has been sitting on my desk and burning a hole in my conscience for some time! This is a great CD, which should have wide appeal to saxophiles and anyone with an interest in classical music in all its wonderful forms. The album explores a thoughtfully programmed range of excellent music from across the centuries from the Baroque to the present day, linked by common threads of structure, sound and mood. Click to read my review of Timescape to find out more…

Leave a comment